WWIS Header
Log in
updated 2:28 PM UTC, Apr 19, 2018

Wisconsin Broadcasters Association Awards Night

  • Written by Bob Gabrielson
  • Published in News

It was a good night for WWIS Radio on Saturday as it walked away with 3 First Place Awards, 4 Second Place Awards and 1 Third at the Wisconsin Broadcasters Association Annual Awards Gala in Madison. 

Brian B took first place with Crazy Little Christmas named Best Show 9am-5am and also first for BRF Football 800th Game feature named Best Feature.  Dick Deno takes first in the Best Specialty Programming Division with "We Rob Trains".  WWIS Radio participates in the Small Market category.

Best Feature 


2nd Place: WBEV AM, Beaver Dam Memorial Day

Ceremony Keynote

3rd Place: WXPR FM, The Ocean Epic of Walter Wendt


Best Specialty Programming 

1st Place: WWIS FM, We Rob Trains

2nd Place: WBEV AM, WBEV Tribute To Veterans

3rd Place: WBEV AM, Beaver Dam Memorial Day

Ceremony Coverage


Best Show 9am-5am 

1st Place: WWIS FM, Brian B's Crazy Little Christmas

Best Shows 5am-9amBST RADIO SHOW 5 AM - 9 AM

1st Place: WHYB FM, Chuck and Jim Veterans Day Show

2nd Place: WWIS FM, WWIS' BuyLine Program

3rd Place: WBEV AM, Christmas Morning Phone Calls

Best Spot News 

1st Place: WRJO FM, Eagle River Robbery

2nd Place: WWIS FM, Murdered Woman Identified

3rd Place: WHYB FM, Pound Shootings


Best Sportscast 

1st Place: WTCH AM, WTCH Sportscast

2nd Place: WWIS FM, Monday Morning Quarterback


Best Live On Scene Reporting 

1st Place: WRJO FM, Trayvon Martin Rally

2nd Place: WWIS FM, Helgeson Body Found

3rd Place: WRJO FM, Harley Davidson Museum


Best Significant Community Impact 

1st Place: WRJO FM, Wisconsin Council of the Blind

2nd Place: WRJO FM, 30 Hour PledgeAThon

3rd Place: WWIS FM, Spotlight on Schools



Black River Falls

Mostly Sunny

Humidity: 78%

Wind: 7 mph

  • 19 Apr 2018 45°F 14°F
  • 20 Apr 2018 49°F 20°F